Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Mulberry Street- right up my street!

Well, we have started on our quest to visit new restaurants and this is my first review of our findings…

It was a nice day on Sunday so we thought it would be an idea to go for a stroll and some lunch. We decided not to walk into the main centre but to go somewhere on the outskirts and avoid the crowds. We chose Llandaff, planning to eat in a local pub if we could find one.

We ended up walking down Llandaff High Street and walked past Mulberry Street. We thought it looked a bit up market especially as we were only dressed in jeans but then we noticed a lunch special advertised on a board- 2 courses for £8.95 which seemed good so we peered in the window. It was pretty full inside and we weren’t under dressed so we decided to give it a go.

It turns out Mulberry Street is run by a lovely couple who made us feel very welcome. We were shown to our seats and given the lunch menu along with a normal tapas type menu. The lunch menu was great but my mouth also watered at the main menu. The food was really unusual spanning several continents and included meats like venison and duck and lots of different fish so it looked really appealing to me. We decided that if the food was nice, we would come back one evening and stuck to the lunch menu.

I had prawn cocktail to start and my fiance had bacon and black pudding salad. Both were very nice. For our main, he chose steak in red wine sauce with some nice potatoes and I had fish and chips. My fish was beautiful and the batter was fresh and light. I particularly liked the tartar sauce which I’m sure was home-made. However, I was very jealous of my fiance’s dish. It was absolutely lovely, the steak was cooked to perfection!

I was also very impressed with the presentation of the food. Dishes were delivered like little works of art. I love restaurants that make an effort with presentation.

We will be making a trip back to this place one evening I think. It’s nice to find a locally owned restaurant to eat in and to avoid the big chain places. A bargain too at £8.95 for two very substantial courses!


Leave a Reply

