Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

A great French restaurant in Cardiff!

Last Wednesday, I went to Cote, a new French restaurant that has opened in Cardiff Bay. I was very excited because I absolutely love French food. We also had a voucher for 50% off our food bill which is a fantastic deal!

The restaurant is right at the end of Mermaid’s Quay in the Bay, almost directly opposite Wales Millennium Centre which is a nice location. We walked in and realised the restaurant was quite posh. The decor was classy and sophisticated with small round tables with candles and dim lighting. It looked lovely and my tummy was rumbling!

We were seated and brought a menu. Drinks were very reasonable and there was a good choice. The food menu was reasonably extensive and had some really nice dishes, especially starters. As I read through, I realised that there were lots of nice dishes but nothing that really jumped out at me as a definite choice except for the Confit De Canard, which I chose as my main.

Our waiter was very nice and polite. The service was very upmarket. The waiter called us Madam and Sir and poured the wine with one hand behind his back (unfortunately, he also spilt it all over the table which was quite amusing!). Unfortunately, we had to wait 35 minutes for our starters as it was busy but our main and desert came quicker.

I was impressed with my pate starter which was very nicely presented. The other two people I was with had scallops which they said were nice but not outstanding. The portion and ingredients were a bit measly apparently. My main course of Confit de Canard was delicious! The only thing that was slightly annoying was that you had to buy vegetables and potatoes separately which I found a bit pretentious and it bumps up the price. Deserts were nice, although a bit on the small side.

Overall, we had a lovely night. The atmosphere was spot on and with our voucher, it was excellent value. I’m not sure whether I would hurry back at the original price too often but I will definitely go again. One thing to watch out for though is that they add a 12.5% service charge to your bill! I think this is very steep! I don’t like it when a service charge is automatically added to your bill, I think how much you tip should depend on the service you receive but either way, 12.5% is too high.

 

 

Love the accessories!

 

4 responses to “A great French restaurant in Cardiff!

  1. Andrew Watkins February 19, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    agree with the food being delicious, but the price for such good food is a bargain, try and compare it with Cafe rouge? I have been there 7 times since it opened and not been let down once, beef bourginon, seabass, and steaks to die for….the waiters were well worth the tip!!! we can either support a good restaurant being in Cardiff or we lose it? everyone has something to moan about and this restaurant certainly is not the focus of my moaning!

    • EatOutCardiff February 19, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      Hi Andrew,
      Thanks for your comments. I’m not suggesting the waiter’s aren’t worth their tip by any means, I just believe that people should be able to choose how much they tip based on the service they receive. It’s just nice to have the choice.

  2. Ben February 19, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    I’ve also been there and though the food was very good, service was good, nothing whatsoever to complain about but I do agree that tips should be a choice for the customer. As a rule of thumb the typical tip should be 10% so to have no choice at 12.5% is a bit much. It’s just a good job that when I went the tip was deserving! You can ask for them to take it off but for us British people that situation would be too uncomfortable to bear…

  3. Clear Translations February 19, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    I agree! We went last Tuesday, and considering it was very quiet at 7pm, we had to wait quite a long time for the food. The waiters took even longer to clear the plates, which isn’t great in my book. The food itself was delicious, the duck pate was lovely – you need to order bread for the mussels which is a bit tight – the steaks for the mains were spot on, although the portions of chips were on the small side, and there was no salad so the plate looked a little bare. I agree that it’s a bit presumptuous to add a tip, and 12% at that! I felt the prices were quite steep on the whole, although the waiter was very pleasant and the decor absolutely gorgeous, so definitely would have given a tip. I don’t think I’ll rush back, although if you order before 7pm there is a special menu which is much cheaper.

Leave a Reply

