Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Winter Warmers at Maltsters

On my quest for new places to eat in Cardiff, on Saturday night, I found myself in The Maltsters In Llandaff. I have heard many good things about this place so I was really pleased when my friend suggested going there for dinner.

The Maltsters has only been renovated quite recently and it has transformed from drab, lifeless old man’s pub to cosy, gastro extraordinaire! The whole place is kitted out nicely with laminate flooring, lovely wooden tables and chairs and roaring fires. Lovely!

You can’t book a table because it’s just so popular, you have to take your chances. This clearly didn’t put anyone off as it was rammed! There was nowhere to sit when we arrived so we had to buy drinks and then loiter around waiting for a table to vacate. We were lucky and got a table quite quickly but there weren’t enough chairs. This proved more of a problem but eventually, we managed to round-up enough and sat down to look at the menu.

What’s great about the menu is that it changes everyday so you are always surprised. I love this! I get bored with a restaurant when I’ve tried everything on the menu but this won’t happen at the Maltsters. The  menu (on this occasion) was full of winter warms like ham and chicken pie and lamb chops with mash. The food was simple but classy. We all opted for a T-Bone steak with home-made chips and it was delicious. My steak was cooked to perfection. So many places end up getting steak wrong but this was spot on and the chips were lovely.

We couldn’t resist dessert which was also lovely and very filling. I had a chocolate brownie with ice cream and chocolate sauce. It was perfect- hard on the outside and squishy on the inside!

I definitely recommend this place. Prices are good for what you get and are wide ranging. Just be prepared to wait a while for a table.

Leave a Reply

