Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Where the rustic pub and sophisticated restaurant collide you get The Old Cottage.

Those of you who subscribe to my blog or follow me on Facebook or Twitter will have hopefully read my blog post about the free meals that were being given away by The Old Cottage and grabbed yourself a delicious meal for the grand price of zilch! I certainly took advantage of the opening offer with a table last Wednesday.

We didn’t know what to expect but had high hopes by the amount of people who reached my blog by searching for The Old Cottage on Google and we were not disappointed. The Old Cottage is fantastic with food to match.

When we approached we saw it tucked away just off the main road, it looked quite secluded and I would have been very proud of myself if I had just stumbled across it with its beautiful ‘old cottage’ exterior, lovely front garden, log store and welcoming lights.

When we got inside it was heaving but we were quickly greeted by a member of staff and shown to our seats. In fact, I think we were greeted by about three members of staff, everyone was very eager to please. Our waitress, Lydia was fantastic and talked us through several items on the menu and had clearly tasted everything. She was very knowledgable and helpful. The manager also introduced himself which I thought was a lovely personal touch.

The interior was stunning! A real blend of rustic, contemporary and sophistication with old metal framed tables with aged wooden tops, oak flooring, wooden contemporary designs on the walls and some very modern light fittings. The restaurant was subtly divided into different areas all with very different feels. The bar area was like a cosy old pub, there was a more romantic area with a log burner, low lighting and tables for two, a relaxed social area with a selection of tables for both large and small parties and an area that seemed to be designed for more casual dining.

Our table was great. We were seated near the open kitchen so we could see exactly what was going on which is a really nice touch. The stainless steel kitchen surfaces, a complete contrast to the furniture which I really liked. Even the toilets were a thing of beauty! Ledge and Brace latch doors with modern round basins, flowers and a lovely view! Everything was of a very high quality.

To match the fabulous setting, the food was superb and again, a great blend of contemporary and rustic. Dishes were presented on wooden boards and stylish dishes. Ben’s starter of scallops with truffle oil and celeriac puree, was cooked perfectly. My Docellatte and Pear Tart was good although the accompanying red onion marmalade was a little sweet and over powering.

For our mains, we both chose from the Special’s menu. Ben had sea bream with pak choi and five spice chips with a pomegranate and plum dressing. It was lovely and very well presented. The chips were more like lattice crisps which was very unique.

The sea bream

However, none of it compared to my dish- Rack of lamb with celeriac puree, a medley of cherry tomatoes and garlic and red wine jus. It was honestly the best rack of lamb I have ever had. The meat was so tender and the jus was amazing! Absolutely delicious. It came at a price though at over £20 but it was so good, I think it was worth it. The other dishes were priced much lower.

Deserts were also very nice. We aren’t really desert people but we enjoyed the treacle tart and cookies and ice cream which was served in a tower. The only complaint I would have and it’s more of a niggle than a complaint is that I didn’t get any potatoes with my dish. At over £20 a dish, I don’t think it’s a lot to ask for some carbs to be included. It bothers me when you have to buy your potatoes as a side. In my opinion, they should be part of the meal, not an extra.

Niggle aside, as an overall experience, The Old Cottage was superb! I am going to give it a green spoon but I have high hopes that I might be able to give a golden spoon on a return visit and I can’t wait to go back! The manager told us that when it is a nice day, they have picnic blankets that can be used outside. I think that’s a brilliant idea and would like to give it a go.  I will be back!

Outstanding Rack of lamb

My Last Mouthful was: The rack of lamb with red wine jus

3 responses to “Where the rustic pub and sophisticated restaurant collide you get The Old Cottage.

  1. Simon Evans July 5, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    Bizarrely myself and Niamh went for exactly the same main courses and were blown away by them both !
    The venue was outstanding – the service was excellent and couldn’t be faulted and the food was superb !!
    Will definitely be going back soon !
    Great to see you too !!!

  2. Simon Evans July 5, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Oh and I completely agree on the small niggle regarding side dish with the lamb… I thought exactly the same as you – great minds !

Leave a Reply

