Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Embassy cafe- The humble little cafe that serves great vegetarian food!

For a long time I watched Embassy Cafe’s daily menu pop up on Twitter and retweeted it but for ages that was as close as I got to tasting it. Everything always looks so delicious and unusual and I love the way the menu changes every day.

A few months back, Ben and I decided it was about time we tried it and met there for lunch. Embassy Cafe is a very humble little place, based in Cathays Community Centre. It is a vegetarian cafe and uses local and fairtrade produce and produce they grow themselves on the premises. They also make great vegan and wheat free cakes.

You can get  yourself the usual sandwich or salad and everyday the soup of the day and main meal option changes. I quite like the way they only have one main on offer, it’s like a food lottery!  Being such a meat lover, I don’t usually opt for vegetarian. Even if the veggie option looks good, I still usually go for a meat dish but at Embassy Cafe, the menu is always so appealing and very different from your usual ‘vegetarian lasagne’ or risotto that meat doesn’t even feature in my thoughts.

The day that we visited, the main meal was beetroot curry with chicpea side and pickled red cabbage with rice so we decided to give it a try.

I have to admit, after reading the menu day after day, I wasn’t sure that we had picked the best day but it was very nice. The beetroot curry was very unusual and was essentially beetroot with some curry spices but I enjoyed it. I particularly liked the chicpea side. Since my first visit, I have been back several times. It’s close to where I work so I often head down for lunch with colleagues. In the last few weeks, we have had chic pea and date tagine with a cous cous salad and flat bread and a lovely dish of cheese and broccoli paties with homemade chips and apple and tomato chutney. The main meals are £5 which I think is good value.

The cafe itself is very basic as you might expect for a cafe in a community centre. It’s very small inside with mismatch furniture and chequered red and white table clothes. A chalk board announces the specials   pay for your food at the counter, take a seat and it is bought for you. There is plenty of outside space too amongst the vegetables patches on old plastic patio furniture. It’s always popular and populated by a real eclectic mix of people.

It’s by no means fancy and it’s not exactly aesthetically pleasing but I think that’s the beauty of it. It’s not pretending to be anything special, it is what it is and the food speaks for itself. It offers some of the best vegetarian food I have had in a long time.

My Last Mouthful was: Cheese and broccoli paties with apple and tomato chutney

Service-

Atmosphere and decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu- 

Value for money- 

Overall rating- 

Leave a Reply

