Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Khazana- were we reading the same menu?

On our hunt for a really good curry house, Ben and I tried Khazana in Whitchurch last week. It seemed quite impressive when we looked at the menu as it was serving regional dishes from all over India so we thought we might be able to get something different and quite unusual. I got quite excited when I noticed that they served momos and some fruity Bengali dishes. We spent some time in India last year and I really wanted to get stuck into some of the dishes I tried while I was there.

We were seated in a nice booth which I liked because it was quite private and even if the restaurant was empty (which it wasn’t) the booth still created a nice cosy atmosphere. The restaurant was a stereotypical Indian restaurant with red seats, paper table clothes and very smartly dressed staff. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were served quickly.

When it came to the important business of ordering, Ben chose a coconut and chilli crab cakes and I chose chillis stuffed with cheese only to be told that they were out of stock of and the supplier had stopped making them. What? Buying in chilli’s with cheese? Surely this is something that can be done by the chef? I was surprised but changed my order to potato momos.

When are starters arrived, we were a little disappointed. Ben’s crab cakes were very processed. They were flat, cheap and very basic. For the price of £6, we expected better. My momos were ok but not like any momos I have ever tasted. Traditional momos are like dumplings but these were made of a hard shell, like pastry. Momos (originally from Tibet) were my favourite snack when I was Gorhkaland in India but they were nothing like these.

Unfortunately, it didn’t improve much with the main. Ben’s Lamb curry was nice but it was supposed to include butternut squash and potato but it did not. My curry was a totally new culinary experience for me! My fillets of mint chicken cooked in herbs and spices and finished with carrot and cheese sounded very unusual and I couldn’t wait to try it. I was expecting a lovely minty flavour with a topping of grated carrot and paneer. However, my MINT chicken turned out to be MINCE and the carrot was cut into discs placed on top with grated melted cheddar! In fact there was a bizarre mix of chicken pieces and mince. It was more like a curried bolognese! Very odd but not unpleasant, just very annoying to not get what you ordered.

My 'mint' chicken curry

Overall, we weren’t very impressed with the food. The dishes were more expensive than your average curry house and if we had got what we thought we were going to get based on the menu description, it would have been worth it. However, we did not. On the plus side, staff were lovely and it looked the part. If you like curried bolognese then give it a try!

My Last Mouthful was: Ben’s lamb curry

Service-

Atmosphere and decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall Rating-

Leave a Reply

