Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

And my first ever GOLDEN SPOON goes to…. The Flour Garden!

CUPCAKE WEEK: SATURDAY

In preparation for cupcake week, I have been sampling many cakes and it has been a great experience. I had no idea that Cardiff had so much baking and decorating talent and I have been impressed with all that I have tried!

However, my first delivery of cakes as part of my cupcake feature was extra special. I had never heard of the Flour Garden until I started planning my feature and I discovered them on Twitter. The Flour Garden were keen to be involved so I signed them up and they delivered me a box of cakes. I can honestly say, these are the best cupcakes I have ever tasted! The only negative thing I have to say is that as they were delivered to me at my office, I had to share them!

The Flour Garden was started by Dylan Aubrey Evans in 2008 as an alternative to shop bought supermarket cakes. Dylan is a self-taught baker and extremely talented.

The Flour Garden’s ethos is that baking can be both an art and a science.

“We believe that you have to taste everything that you produce and everything you put on the plate should be balanced both in flavour and texture.”

This is clearly evident when looking at and tasting the cakes. They are an absolutely perfect! The cakes are light and fluffy and the icing is so thick and creamy yet not at all sickly and they look fantastic. I could (and did!) eat many of these cakes without feeling too full or sick.

The reason that The Flour Garden deserve a Golden Spoon is because they offer a combination of originality, excellent presentation and exceptional tasting products. Dylan obviously extends his ethos beyond the cakes as they were delivered to me in a fabulously arty box. The inside of the box featured a collage style design complete with bunting, photos, sketches and the company logo. The box included a gift tag and another tag detailing the flavours of the cakes. A lot of thought has clearly gone into the overall presentation and I think it has a very positive impact.

By the time I had finished ‘ooing’ over the box, I was seriously excited to taste the cakes which were packed in amongst bright green shredded paper. They looked amazing! The designs are so quirky and fun! The flavours are very unique too. Most of them are takes on the standard flavours but with a delicious twist. Instead of strawberry, The Flour Garden do strawberry milkshake and instead of lemon, lemonade. Here is a run down of the cakes I tried:

Strawberry Milkshake

Decorated with pink icing and a single strawberry, this cake was one of my favourites. The icing was strawberry flavoured but with a milky taste too and had a layer of jam running through the sponge. It really did taste like a milkshake. Lovely!

Strawberry Milkshake Cupcake

 

Peanut Butter and Jelly

This was also one of my favourites. The cake was decorated with chocolate peanuts and a slice of a peanut and chocolate sweet. The peanut icing was lovely and creamy and complimented the cake base which had a layer of jam running through it which prevented it from being too cloying.

Oreo

I’ve had many Oreo cupcakes in my quest to find the best cupcakes in Cardiff and this one was by far the best I have tasted. The Oreos ran through the entire cake. The sponge was made with crunchy Oreo pieces so it had a real biscuit taste and the icing was also made with ground up Oreos and decorated with a half biscuit. It made for a great texture.

Lemonade

Another one of my favourites, (I know, I have too many favourites!) this cake took lemon cake to a new level. The icing was deliciously creamy and lemony but not too sweet and the cake had a layer of lemon curd running through the middle. This sweet, sticky flavour transformed the cake from lemon to lemonade. It was then decorated with lemonade Haribo sweets to give it the ‘fizz’.

White Chocolate Mud Cake

Decorated with white icing and chocolate sweets, this cake looked as though it might be sickly but it wasn’t at all. The flavours were lovely but not too overpowering and rich.

I’m not sure how the Flour Garden manage to make their cakes so beautifully sweet and full of flavour without making them at all sickly. The icing is so light and fluffy and at the same time, the cake is moist and light. The sponge isn’t just ordinary either, each cake has something different about it like the lemon curd layer and the layer of jam in the peanut butter cake. I don’t know how the Flour Garden manage to achieve this layer but it is extremely effective.

These cakes are seriously something special. Not only do they taste amazing but they look amazing along with their packaging and they so are imaginative and fun. A lot of love and attention has gone into the overall design and branding as well as the baking and it really shows. The Flour Garden describe their cakes as ‘pretentious’ but I would prefer to describe them as ‘quirky’ because to me pretentious has negative connotations and there is certainly nothing negative about these creations!

The Flour Garden cakes can be ordered via their website or you can get them from Fusion Cafe. Priced at £2 a cake, they are worth every penny. They would make a great gift presented in their fabulous boxes. I’m really happy to give The Flour Garden my first golden spoon and I wish them every success with their new venture with Fusion Cafe.

The Flour Garden had their debate in Fusion Cafe yesterday so get down there if you want to give them a try or order online. You can also follow them on Twitter.

My Last Mouthful was: The Strawberry Milkshake Cupcake

Service-

Presentation-

Quality of product-

Variety of products-

Value for money-

Overall rating-

3 responses to “And my first ever GOLDEN SPOON goes to…. The Flour Garden!

  1. The Flour Garden September 17, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Thank you so much for this review! We are so happy you liked them and that you thought our cakes were good enough to receive the coveted golden spoon award x

  2. Amy from Bonjour Cupcake September 17, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    They deserve it! I was gutted i couldn’t go to there opening last night in Fusion too tast a cake pop! I may get the boyfriend to order me a box for my birthday! xx

  3. Nikki- Your Last Mouthful September 30, 2011 at 10:08 am

    Check out the Flour Garden’s new blog. They have mentioned this review too – http://flourgarden.moonfruit.com/#/blog/4554428300/A-Review-of-our-cakes…/206729

Leave a Reply

