Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

The Pear Tree- would you like an empty bowl with that?

A few weeks ago, my friend Mrs. J and I went out for a bite to eat at The Pear Tree in Roath. A few people have told me that I need to get down there and give it a try and I’ve been meaning to for a while.

We walked in and it immediately felt nice and welcoming, I often feel intimidated when I walk into pubs but I didn’t at all at The Pear Tree. The Pear Tree describe themselves as a cafe bar and I think this is a fair description. It’s clearly a bar but it has the coziness and relaxed feel of a coffee shop.

The decor is very unusual and is set out like an old house. There are book shelves, ornaments and lamps and old portraits on the wall that look like they came straight out of a museum or a very elderly relatives house.  There was even an old style sewing machine thrown into the mix.

We found a table for two and looked at the menu. The menus were on A4 paper but also displayed on boards around the room. There was also a tapas checklist on the table which you could take to the bar so you didn’t forget which tapas you had tried which was a good idea I thought.

I was a little disappointed by the choice of food available, the menu was quite uninspiring. We had gone for an evening meal but they seemed to cater mostly for lunch and breakfast with lots of sandwiches and paninis.  However, after we had ordered, I did actually see a board of specials which would have been a lot better for an evening meal than what we picked.

I ordered a spiced chicken breast burger with chilli jam and minted creme fraiche with chunky chips and Mrs. J ordered the tapas deal- 3 dishes with a drink for £7.95. She chose  spicy chicken wings, meat balls and squid.

My chicken burger and chunky chips

When it came to ordering the meals, we did have a few issues. While staff were very friendly and accommodating, they made a few mistakes. Firstly with the tapas Mrs. J was allowed a continental beer or a glass of wine. She wanted the beer but as this particular beer had run out, they didn’t offer her a different one, she was only allowed wine. I thought this was pretty poor and she should have been given the option of a different beer.

Mrs. J ordered bread and olives as an appetizer and half way through eating the bread, we noticed that she hadn’t got any olives, in fact she had been bought an empty bowl! Staff were quick to rectify this though but we were baffled as to how you can go as far has getting the bowl out and then forgetting to put the food in it!

Mrs. J's tapas. Note the empty bowl...

When our mains arrived, my burger was pretty small for the price I paid for it. It tasted fine but it didn’t come with the minted creme fraiche so I asked the waiter about this and he bought out a little pot of it. Mrs J enjoyed her tapas, especially the wings which were marinated in a spicy sauce.

Not quite full, we decided to have dessert. We chose apple rhubarb and gooseberry pudding and chocolate and cherry fondant. Both were mediocre and clearly bought in. They were a bit dry so we could have done with a bit more ice cream.

Rhubarb and Gooseberry pudding

All in all, I won’t rush back to eat at The Pear Tree but it is a lovely place for a drink. It has quite a ‘first date’ feel to it. The food wasn’t bad, it’s what you would expect from a Brain’s pub but when it comes to food, with other independent places in the area, I would choose them for food over The Pear Tree.

My Last Mouthful was: Chips dipped in minted Creme fraiche

Service-

Atmosphere and decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall rating– 

Leave a Reply

