Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

The Potted Pig- A Superior Town Centre Restaurant!

I can’t tell you how long I’ve been looking for an excuse to visit The Potted Pig! I was invited to their launch party and couldn’t make it and I have been invited out with friends to eat their several times which I couldn’t make so I have been itching to go since it opened! Lucky, Ben’s birthday last month was the perfect excuse so off we went.

Housed in an old bank voult, The Potted Pig is very unique in design. With its brick walls and metal fixtures, it has an industrial but cosy feel to it. The low lights and cosy leather seats create a nice atmosphere which is enhanced by the closeness of the tables. Very much my sort of thing.

We were shown to our table and our waiter came to take our drinks orders. Staff were very friendly and professional. They were well-mannered and well presented which gave a very good impression without being overly pretentious and they had good knowledge of the menu when we asked questions.

Before taking our food orders, we were offered complementary homemade bread. So few places do this these days so it was a real breath of fresh air. It’s something that costs so little to do and makes all the difference to us  so we were off to a good start.

The menu was varied with a nice range of meats including rabbit, pork, lamb, beef and pigeon. To start, we chose the signature dish, Potted Pig with toast and pickles and the Offaly good breakfast. Both were really good and very well presented. I particularly liked the Offaly good breakfast as it was cooked so nicely.

For our mains, I had Slow roast Herefordshire pork belly with baked carrots, runner beans, peas & gravy and Ben had a nice Pidgeon and blackberry salad. Although Ben’s salad was very nice, mine was the superior dish. It was cooked very well and the fat just melted away in my mouth. The meals are very simple but effective, rather like you might cook at home.  It is very much meat and two veg affair but it is done in a refined way which I enjoyed.

It was so good I forgot to take the photo until after I'd tucked in!

Absolutely stuffed from our mains, we looked at the desert menu but nothing grabbed us enough to try and make room so we decided against it. We’ll save that for next time.

Overall, I was very impressed with the Potted Pig and I will definitely go back. The menu is small but perfectly formed and changes throughout the year, the atmosphere inside was spot on and prices were fair. With most of the best restaurants in Cardiff being out of the town centre, the Potted Pig is a revelation!

My Last Mouthful was:  The Offaly good breakfast

Service-

Decor and Atmosphere-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall rating

4 responses to “The Potted Pig- A Superior Town Centre Restaurant!

  1. Aled October 25, 2011 at 8:54 am

    Really want to go here. It is on the expensive end of Cardiff restaurants, but I definitely would like to try it. Worth the money then?

  2. Bev October 25, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Nice review! I know it’s a weird thing to remember but I really enjoyed the baked carrots…

  3. hannah evans October 28, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    I too have been meaning to go here for ages I’ve heard so many good things about it!

Leave a Reply

