Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

10 Maryport- Penylan’s hidden gem!

On Sunday 23rd October at 10am, I felt like I was the only person in Wales as I drove through Penylan on my way to meet Kate, the owner of the lovely 10 Maryport Cafe and to have a spot of breakfast. With everyone watching the world cup final the roads were deserted but I got a lovely warm welcome when I arrived and had the place to myself!

As I walked in, I was struck by how homely it felt. I had been to 10 Maryport before when it first opened about a year ago and it has changed quite a bit since then. It has developed a real warm, cosy feel with its comfy sofas at the front of the shop, shelves on the wall which are home to a quirky teapot lamp and books, magazine rack and notice board.

The decor is clean and fresh in white but with these new touches and more pictures added to the walls, it create a perfect balance between fresh and cosy. I have issue with going into cafes and restaurants alone, I find it quite uncomfortable but this is the sort of place I could happily sit with a coffee and a book.

As the match finished, customers began to trickle in and Kate was attentive to them all, stopping to chat and effortlessly bantering with the children. One thing that really appealed to me is that 10 Maryport is very child friendly. Children are clearly welcome and as well as space for puchchairs, changing facilities and high chairs, there is even a special childs menu. This isn’t just your average small portions either. Children can have jam, cheese or ham sandwiches cut into the shape of a teddy bear! What a lovely idea.

For us adults, we can choose from a range of breakfast options, brunch or Paninis. All options are simple favourites which again adds to the homely atmosphere. Sandwiches range from £3.25-£3.95 and are served with a salad garnish and paninis range from £3.75-£4.25 with a good range of meat and vegetarian options.

I opted for some Welsh Rarebit from the breakfast menu which was served with homemade caramelised onion chutney. The bread was chunky, it had lashings of cheese and the chutney was sweet and sticky. All as it should be and very nice.

10 Maryport also do afternoon tea at a good price. For £9 per person, you can tuck into a selection of sandwiches, a slice of homemade cake or scone with jam and clotted cream, served with your choice of hot drink. Cream teas are another option at just £5.

After a year of trading, 10 Maryport is beginning to find its niche and although there is a good selection of tea on offer, Coffee is proving to be the favourite, as is the breakfast menu. In such close proximity to Roath Park I think once people know 10 Maryport is there, it could become very popular indeed. When you’re next walking round Roath Lake, I suggest you visit 10 Maryport Cafe and see what you think. I will certainly be back.

My Last Mouthful was: Welsh Rarebit with onion chutney

Service-

Atmosphere and Decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall rating- 

One response to “10 Maryport- Penylan’s hidden gem!

  1. Jo November 9, 2011 at 11:42 am

    After reading your review I decided to give 10 maryport a go last weekend. My mum went for the welsh rarebit with onion chutney and loved it too! she had a bit of chutney left at the end which i tried (there was no welsh rarebit left to share as she liked it soo much!!). I tried the fishfinger sandwich which was also really tasty. The bread they use is so soft it tasted like it had only just been baked. The owner was lovely and stopped and chatted with us for quite a while. I took my 6 month old daughter and she was very happy sat in their highchairs which were spotless. I couldn’t believe how near it was to Roath park yet I’d never been there before. Now I’ve found it I will def. be going back!

Leave a Reply

