Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

The Pasta Pot- A Great Lunch Time Alternative

When you’re at work and you have half an hour or an hour at the most to grab lunch, it can be more difficult than you would think. There is no time to sit in somewhere because by the time your food arrives, you have to gulp it down so fast there is no chance to enjoy it and you end up leaving with indigestion or you are nursing a burnt throat for the rest of the day.

On the days when I don’t get round to making lunch before I leave for work, I usually make the trip into town leaving me with just enough time to grab something and run back. I get fed up with sandwiches and I don’t like to eat too much bread so I was very interested to hear about the Opening of Pasta Pot.

Pasta Pot brand themselves as a ‘new delicious nutritious take away concept for Cardiff’. The idea is that you build your own meal from their selection of pasta, sauces and ingredients available. It gives you total control so you can make sure you get exactly what you want. It is made right in front of you and packed into a handy take away container. Quick, easy and very tasty!

There are both hot and cold options available and if you’re anything like me and a little on the indecisive side, you can pick  the daily special which changes regularly or the example options that are available and have been tried and tested. The specials are seriously appealing and although a little more expensive than the normal pots (at about £4-£5) in my opinion they are worth paying more for.

I sampled a build your own chilled pasta pot and a hot daily special and very much enjoyed both. For the chilled pot I went with a recommendation of chorizo, chicken tikka, mushrooms, spring onions. rocket and a sweet curry sauce with gluten-free pasta. It was very refreshing and the flavours went very nicely together. The regular pot at £3.20 was the perfect amount for me but a larger pot is also available for £3.50.

While I enjoyed the concept of building your own pasta pot, for me the it was the daily special that will keep me coming back. They always sound so appealing and the one I tried was so fresh and fragrant compared to a prepackaged pot you might buy in a shop. I had basil pesto with chorizo, tomatoes and rocket and again I chose gluten-free pasta. Delicious!

As well as the pasta there is a range of delicious soups, coffees and cakes, meal deals and even a breakfast menu which is great value. If the Pasta Pot was on my way to work, I would certainly be stopping regularly rather than running down the road with a banana like I so often do.

I think that this is a great idea and I hope it does really well. I love that you can pick your own pasta and that they provide a gluten-free option. It makes it really easy for someone with a wheat intolerance and the pasta is really nice, I wouldn’t have guessed it was gluten-free. This is a fantastic alternative to a sandwich and definitely worth a visit.Take a look at their menu and see what you think.

My Last Mouthful was: Hot Pasta pot special with Basil Pesto, Chorizo, Tomatoes and Rocket.

 

Service-

Atmosphere and decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall rating-

Leave a Reply

