Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Foodie New Years Resolutions!

I’m a bit sad to say goodbye to 2011, it’s been a really good year for me in terms of food. I have been to some amazing places and eaten some outstanding food both in Cardiff and further afield.

I’m not one to make New Year’s Resolutions but with Your last Mouthful set to officially launch in February, I’m going to be doing a serious amount of eating and I’m very excited! To make sure that 2012 is a success and I make the most of it, I decided now would be a good time to start planning. With that in mind, here are my 5 Foodie New Years Resolutions!

1. Keep up my Foodie To Do List.

I started my Foodie To Do List in 2011. The aim was to list the top 5 places I would like to eat in Cardiff and the surrounding area and as I did, tick them off and add a new one. I was so lucky in 2011 as I was invited to eat at so many places that my list went to pot a bit. This year, I am going to make sure I upkeep it and visit that places listed that I am dying to try. Recommendations welcome!

2. Friday night is feast night!

I love cooking and so does my husband Mr.V. Unfortunately, we are very busy people and although we always cook, (unless we are lucky enough to be eating out) during the week it usually has to be something quick. We both love to spend hours slaving over a good meal so I declare Friday night- Feast Night! Every Friday, we will make sure we cook a stonker of a meal together. Seeing as we do have a life, this might not always be Friday night and it might not always be possible but we will aim to do it at least once a week.

3. Eat myself thin!

Obviously all this eating can take its toll so I try to exercise regularly to make sure I can still do up my jeans! I have generally been going to the gym or a gym class three times a week so I am going to make sure this continues into 2012 so I can continue filling my face without altering my waistline!

4. Eat more fish

I have developed a real love for fish recently and I want to make sure I eat more of it both and at home and when I eat out. I love the lightness  and freshness of fish and there are so many I just haven’t tried! I want to eat some unusual fish cooked in some unique ways in 2012.

5. Choose something different

Everyone has their favourites that they tend to gravitate towards on a menu. In 2012, I am going to try to pick the dish that I wouldn’t usually go for. There really isn’t anything I don’t like so there is no reason for me to always go for what I think is my favourite. Variety is the key!

I’ll let you know how I get on. Feel free to share your resolutions with me too.

3 responses to “Foodie New Years Resolutions!

  1. telerijj January 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    I’ve got similar new year resolutions as you Nikki – eat more fish and try more shellfish and continuing eating myself thin which can be done.

    Plus, I’m going to try a new recipe at least twice a month.

  2. Nicole January 2, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Is it sad that I’m still working on my resolution’s list? Ha ha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

