Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Rachel’s Organic- More than just yogurts.

As you may know from a previous review, I am quite a fan of Rachel’s Organic yogurts. In fact, they are have become a staple in my supermarket trolley. With a great variety of flavours and special added regularly, I can’t fault them.

A few weeks ago, I had a delivery of Rachel’s Organic products to try and a list of recipes to go with them. Now as I’ve said, I’m a fan of the yogurts and when I think Rachel’s, I think yogurts but they do in fact offer a wider variety of dairy products than that including rice pudding, creme fraiche, milk and butter.

Working my way through the box of goodies I received, I started with the limited addition Pineapple, Coconut and Banana wholemilk yogurt. This was a hit with me. I love coconut and banana and the pineapple gave the yogurt a nice sweetness that complimented the other two flavours well without it being too overpowering. The yogurt was a nice consistency and went well with a bowl of fruit.

There was also a low fat yogurt option included in the box- Mango, Pineapple and Passion Fruit. This one was also very nice and even though it was low fat, in terms of consistency, it didn’t differ much from the wholemilk yogurt so in future I would definitely go for the low fat option.

My favourite vareity of Rachel’s Organic yogurts are the Greek Style ones. They are seriously good! Creamy, thick and full of flavour- yum! Luckily for me, I was sent two varieties on this occasion, Natural and Honey. The Natural is very good and can be used in many recipes as well as on its own or on cereal (which is what I have most mornings). The Honey variety is nice but for me, I would rather by the Natural and put a spoonful of honey in it if I feel like something sweet.

I didn’t get sent any on this occasion but my absolute favourite Rachel’s Organic yogurt is the Greek Style Coconut. It is absolutely beautiful! Not only is it thick and creamy but it is packed full of coconut, just making it thicker still. The only problem is that I will literally eat the whole pot in one sitting if I’m not careful. I also really like the Greek Style Ginger yogurt with real chunks of sweet ginger. It started off as a special edition but due to its popularity it is now amongst the stayers.

I tried out some of the recipes Rachel’s sent me to make use of the creme fraiche and butter and I found that many of the recipes used the Greek Style Natural yogurt including a recipe for Dauphinoise Potatoes which Mr V used to create his salmon dish below. If you’d like the recipe, please get in touch. Rachel’s also have lots of recipes on their website.

Mr V's creation using Rachel's Greek Style Natural yogurt

My last Mouthful was: The Greek Style Natural Yogurt

Service-

Presentation-

Quality of products-

Variety of products-

Value for money-

Overal rating-

3 responses to “Rachel’s Organic- More than just yogurts.

  1. Victoria February 23, 2012 at 10:09 am

    Please may I be emailed a copy of the dauphinoise recipe? Many thanks Victoria

  2. Pingback: Rachel’s Organic Strawberries And Cream Yogurt- Perfect For Summer « Your Last Mouthful

Leave a Reply

