Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Pie Lovers Heaven!- Pieminister, a pie for all seasons

I enjoy baking pies but I tend to get my recipes from all number of different sources then forget where the I found my favourite ones so I can’t replicate them. That became a thing of the past when the lovely people at Pieminister kindly sent me a copy of their book ‘ Pieminister- a pie for all seasons’  through the post so I thought I should review it for British Pie Week.

The book is nicely presented with a blue hard back cover and the Pieminister logo on the front. I love the look of the book. It’s clean and clear but very colourful inside with comical little antidotes throughout and good quality paper.

The book starts with an introduction and a brief history of Pieminister which is excellent because it is so personal. It includes photos of the founders but it is in no way formal and boring. It’s really well written in casual language which makes you feel like you know them.

Following on from this is a useful section about pastry and then the book is divided into the four seasons. This is something that I found to be very useful and each section starts with ‘seasonal highlights’ which is great for finding out what is in season and to give you ideas for your own recipes.

Each pie recipe is dedicated two pages. One page for the recipe and one for a photo. The recipe is clearly laid out with the title and brief description followed by the method with the ingredients listed down the side of the page. The photos are excellent and sometimes the page is one large photo and sometimes it is divided into lots of smaller photos. It’s very important to me that in a recipe book, there is a photo for every recipe. For me, the appeal of food is the way it looks and I find a great photo to be very influential when I’m deciding what to cook.

I love this book and I have made many of the pies. A couple of my favourites are the Courgette and Chickpea Filo Pie (my attempt is below) and the Love Bunny Pie which is absolutely divine! I have adapted the recipe slightly because the recipe has a puff pastry lid but I prefer shortcrust and I prefer my filling to be encased in pastry rather than just a lid. Once you have tried a recipe though, they are very easy to adapt and make your own.

Courgette and Chickpea Filo Pie

I highly recommend this book. For pies it is my main source now.

Leave a Reply

