Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Fusion Cafe Bar- Sunday Roasts like Mum makes!

Following a recent invitation to lunch at Fusion Cafe we were invited back a second time so we decided to try out the Sunday lunches as they are Fusion’s speciality and have become quiet popular.

I really like Fusion Cafe. The decor is quirky with mis-matched chairs, tables varying in size and some great arty features like a light made out of many bulbs tied together and a colourful paper-mache stag head wall mount. Drinks lists are tastefully painted onto the wall above the bar and there is more graffiti style writing leading you to the toilets. I think the decor would really appeal to my female friends but Fusion are also keen to increase their male visitors as currently girls do seem to dominate. While we were there, Mr. V was the only man but I found this strangely refreshing and he certainly didn’t seem to mind.

On a Sunday, Fusion have a different menu than that of the rest of the week. They serve three courses and there is a fair amount of choice but for the main you can only have a roast dinner, although there was a choice of three when we were there including a vegetarian option. On my previous visit we had lunch on a Saturday which was more of a lunch menu of light bites. I had a duck wrap and my friend had a rather tasty vegetarian burger. The menu has since changed as Fusion have branched into evening menus which look very good.

Anyway, back to the Sunday Roast! I can honestly say, this was the best Sunday lunch I have had in a long time. I am a Sunday roast fiend but Mr V finds them a bit on the dull side so I wasn’t expecting much enthusiasm from him but he wouldn’t shut up about it! He said it was the best Sunday Roast he has had in Cardiff (and them promptly added ‘apart from yours’. I have him well-trained…).

I had the beef option and Mr V had the chicken. I chose the beef as I wanted to try the horse radish sauce which I had heard was handmade. We were delivered two plates of well presented yet still homely looking, roast dinners with a large selection of vegetables, a generous helping of meat and homemade gravy. I particularly enjoyed the vegetables. We had braised red cabbage (I’ve developed a liking for this recently), honied carrots, parsnips and broccoli.

Something that pleased me was that I had a decent portion of potatoes and they were all roasties. I get very upset when I order a roast dinner and I am presented with boiled potatoes or mash. The yorkshire puddings were hand-made and as they should be and the horse radish sauce was certainly a welcome addition to the meal. Very nice indeed.

We were full from our dinner but the waitress tempted us with dessert. On my previous visit, desserts were bought in and I wasn’t overly impressed but they are now hand-made by the chef and are far nicer. I went for the lemon posset. I had made one when friends came to dinner so I wanted to see how it compared to mine. I have to admit that it put mine to shame. It was creamy and zesty and even came with homemade shortbread biscuits.

Mr V had a pear and almond tart which was also very nice. It was crumbly, sticky and sweet and a real home cooked favourite. At under £5 for a dessert and under £10 for the roast dinner, I think Fusion is extremely good value. For the prices they charge, you could easily be served up boil in a bag style Sunday Roasts somewhere else.

I’d also like to comment on the service. It’s rare that service is bad but for a cafe bar like Fusion which could really be the type of place you order at the bar, service is excellent. On both visits I was served by the same waitress and she was a credit to Fusion. She was friendly and chatty but also very professional and eager to please. As well as great table service, it was the little things that we noticed. When she saw us squinting at the desserts board, she picked it up and brought it over for us. When our drinks were running low, she offered us more and when we declined, she brought us glasses of water in case we became thirsty while eating dessert.

I really like Fusion. For a Sunday Roast it is an excellent option and an excellent price. I’m looking forward to trying out their evening menu too.

My Last Mouthful was: A crispy roast potato with home-made gravy

Service-

Atmosphere and decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall rating-

Leave a Reply

