Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

The Potted Pig- A Crack At The Whole Suckling Pig!

Since opening last year, The Potted Pig has built up a reputation for being THE place to eat in the city centre. It’s immensely popular and you have to book well in advance to secure yourself a table.

Amongst the foodie community in Cardiff there has been much buzz and speculation about the The Potted Pig’s whole suckling pig. A feast that many have been dying to try but as it needs to be ordered in advance, serves 8-12 people and costs £300, it hasn’t been widely sampled. The suckling pig has certainly been on my to-do but due to these factors, isn’t something I have been able to do. However, a friend’s birthday was the perfect excuse!

When we arrived, the restaurant was quiet and we were seated on a large table in an area that wasn’t a through walk-way so we had plenty of room for a couple of side tables that were to be home to the pig and accompaniments. We made ourselves comfortable and were immediately waited on by the friendly and efficient staff who got to work with the drinks orders.

After a short while, it was time for the main event. The pig was brought out on a giant wooden board with an apple in its mouth. It looked great but wasn’t as plump as I’d imagined. The waiter told us that it was looking a bit skinny and wasn’t as big as some of the ones they had had recently. I wish he hadn’t told us that when we were paying the same price for it!

The waiter showed us where to carve and my friend got to it while the rest of us waited eagerly.We passed around the vegetables while our mouths watered and we started to greedily speculate whether there would be enough for the 13 of us. We were left to cut the meat and serve ourselves which I enjoyed as it added to the experience.

It turned out that there was more than enough to feed our hungry mob and by the time Mr V got up to see if he could salvage any more meat from the carcass we were all stuffed.

The meat was beautiful. It was tender and juicy and we ate the lot. The only thing that I found disappointing was that there was no crackling. This is what I was looking forward to the most! I nibbled at a bit of skin but it just wasn’t crispy enough. It’s a shame because it could have been absolutely beautiful if it had crackled.

The pig was served with (I say served but the idea was to serve ourselves) roast potatoes, roasted carrots, cabbage and a delicious homemade gravy. We had more than enough to go around even though there were 13 of us and it was recommended to serve 8-12.  Some even had dessert but I didn’t as there was just nothing on the dessert menu that took my fancy.

I had a really good night and it was definitely an interesting experience serving ourselves and carving our own meat. Service was good and someone was always on hand to make sure we had enough drinks. I loved having the whole pig in front of us and the fact that we could eat it all with no wastage. Even the bones and head were bagged up for the diners amongst us who had pets.

Having the whole pig on the table upset some of the diners in our party a bit but for me it made the experience. I think it’s really important to see where your food comes from and I think it’s a bit weird if you are prepared to eat meat as long is it’s packaged nicely for you and you can pretend it’s not an animal.

Overall, this was a very enjoyable experience. I love the decor of The Potted Pig (you can read about this in my previous review) and it was certainly an experience to have a whole suckling pig. However at £300, I’m not sure this is something I would repeat. With 13 of us that worked out as £23 each which sounds more reasonable but it’s still quite expensive for one course. I realise suckling pigs are expensive in general though so this is no reflection on The Potted Pig. It was a great experience but I think now I have done it, I will order something of the A la Carte menu on my next visit, and there will definitely be a next visit.

My Last Mouthful was: The suckling pig of course!

Service-

Atmosphere and decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall rating-

2 responses to “The Potted Pig- A Crack At The Whole Suckling Pig!

  1. Hannah @ Love to Dine April 4, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    I’ve finally caught up with this! Sounds like it was good to try, but I agree £23 per head is steep when the rest of the menu is surprisingly reasonable. I totally agree about people being upset by the whole pig on the table and yet happy to eat the meat otherwise. Where do they think it comes from?! Would have loved to have seen an ‘after’ shot of the pig too!

    Hannah @ Love to Dine
    http://lovetodine.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

