Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Pettigrew Tea Rooms- A Vintage Experience

I met David Le Masurier of Pettigrew Tea Rooms when he was first starting out on the hunt for the perfect premises and writing his hugely popular blog- I Want To Bake Free. David was massively inspiring and enthusiastic about quitting his day job to follow his dream and I couldn’t help but instantly like him and I got very excited about his plans.

David opened Pettigrew  Tea Rooms in March this year in the fantastic location of Bute Park and he has done an amazing job of turning the old gate house into the most divine little vintage tea rooms.

I have been a frequent visitor and while it has been hard to be an anonymous reviewer when David is always there working away, I have managed to visit on a very rare day off so I feel I can write a fair review taking into account of all my visits and experiences which have always been excellent.

David’s dream to create a vintage tearoom has certainly gone to plan and its traditional, elegant decor is in keeping with the old building. The arched windows work beautifully with the vintage theme as do the old clocks, china on display and original floor tiles. All the furniture has an antique feel and the vintage china crockery is just lovely! In fact, I get cup envy whenever I go in.

David has employed a great team although he rarely has a day off himself. Jackie is one to keep hold of.  She has an amazing ability to remember people and can always be seen chatting to customers and making them feel welcome. David’s baker is also worthy of a mention. 19 year old Manon works in the small kitchen upstairs producing cakes freshly made every day. She is certainly very talented for her age.

On this particular visit I was with Mr V although I often visit with Mrs J or other female friends so we can coo over the china cups and vintage decor. We sat outside as unusual for this summer, it wasn’t raining!

We ordered from the extensive tea menu and had beef and horseradish sandwiches and an almond and chocolate cake. The sandwiches were served (on the beautiful china) with crisps and a salad garnish. They are cut into triangles as you would expect in a vintage tea room. At £4.95, these aren’t the cheapest sandwiches in town but you are paying for the vintage experience and the beautiful surroundings which makes it more than worth it for me.

Many of Manna’s cakes are gluten-free as was the Chocolate and almond cake that we ordered, although you wouldn’t know it. It was moist and sticky, rich and delicious! The cakes change all the time too so there is always plenty of choice and new ones to try.

The tea at Pettigrew Tea Rooms is very exciting to me. On this occasion, I had Angel Peach and Mr V had Lapsang Souchong. Both were lovely but I especially enjoyed mine as it smelt amazing and was so fresh and fruity. I think I’ve tried almost all of the teas now and my favourite is the White Peony and Pink Rosebuds which has the most lovely armour and floral flavour.

All in all, I think you can tell I’m a fan. Sometimes it is about the experience and this is what you will get at Pettigrew. If you want a big baguette for a quick lunch, this might not be for you but if you are looking for an elegant experience in a gorgeous setting with attentive staff and vintage china, this is just what you’re looking for.

My Last Mouthful was: The White Peony and Pink Rosebud tea

Service-

Atmosphere and Decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall rating- 

2 responses to “Pettigrew Tea Rooms- A Vintage Experience

  1. Gareth August 22, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    This tea room certainly sounds lovely, but I don’t quite understand your ratings logo with the use of a spoon, there.

Leave a Reply

