Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

To The Door In October

One of the perks of being a food blogger is that I get sent lots of lovely things to sample.  I like to review products that I think are relevant and interesting to my readers but I can’t possibly review everything so from now on I will do an occasional run down of the things I have been sent so they still all get a mention. Some of the following products will be or may have already been reviewed, so please have a look.

Boursin Cheese– I was very kindly sent a box of Boursin cheese containing new flavours; Fig and Nut and Sun Ripened Tomato, Onion and Chive along with the classic garlic and herb variety, Black Pepper flavour and some Boursin minis. As popular cheese brands go, Boursin is one of my favourites. I really enjoyed the new flavours, especially the fig and nut variety as it was sweet and earthy with a crunchy texture. The tomato flavour was quite unusual but for me, you can’t beat the original garlic and herb.

Flavrbox– I have already reviewed Flavrbox and you can read it here. I loved getting a whole box of different products. Very exciting!

Honey– Jeannie from Fields and Hedgerows sent me some of her beautiful honey. I will be writing a review about this so I won’t give too much away here. Watch this space!

Moon cake– My current favourite Chinese Restaurant .CN recently celebrated The Chinese Moon Festival and were kind enough to deliver some Moon Cake for me to try. Made with bean paste, this cake was seriously good. It’s not too sweet and should be enjoyed with a good green tea. My kind of cake!


Kallo products– I was very lucky to be sent a selection of products from Kallo including chicken stock, beef stock and vegetable stock, gravy granules and some corn cakes. I’ve been using the stock when making my winter soups and snaking on the corn cakes. They are similar to rice cakes and are very low in calories and taste a bit like popcorn!

Pu erh Tea– I was very touched this week because one of my Twitter followers @cyberjourney gave me some tea Pu’ erh tea to try that he brought back from his holiday in China after reading my recent blog post on tea. He also gave me some Yak jerky!

Thanks to everyone who was kind enough to send me their products to sample. I am very grateful.

One response to “To The Door In October

  1. Dorine November 1, 2012 at 10:53 am

    I really like the Kallo stock- I use it as a base for my risotto.

Leave a Reply

