Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

The Wales True Taste Awards 2012

Earlier this year I was honoured to be asked to be a judge for the Wales True Taste Awards as a result of my blog and food writing. As a food lover living in Wales, I know that receiving an award is a true accolade and I was very excited to be able to be a part of selecting the products worthy of an award.

The Award ceremony was a few weeks ago and I took my seat on the night with winners and hopefuls.

Photo by Mark Adams

This year the ceremony took place at The Showground in Builth Wells and we were treated to a three course feast that included produce from winners prepared by E J catering.

My table was very award heavy with two awards going to Subzero, two to Forte’s and a gold award for Cardiff preserve maker, Eira from Inner City Pickle for her Mostarda di Frutta.

A gold for Subzero

It was very interesting to see who won the categories that I judged. The judging was blind so although I knew the products we had picked, I didn’t know who made them. I was delighted to discover that the winner of the Other Speciality Foods category that I judged was the fabulous Claire’s Kitchen from Newport. Claire’s lemon curd was absolutely wonderful, so good that I actually took it home with me after judging because I couldn’t bear to see it thrown away.

Other winners of my judging categories included a Bronze Award and a Gold Award for Carmathenshire Cheese Company in the Large Cheese Producer category,  and Munchcake Gluten Free Goodies for Special Dietary Options category.

Leave a Reply

