Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

A Mexican Experience With Oscars Wednesdays

After a few invitations to Oscars of Cardiff that I was unable to make, I was very pleased to finally make it to one of Oscar’s Wednesdays. Back by popular demand, every Wednesday through October and November, Oscar’s are offering a special ‘themed’ menu in addition to the Evening Menu. Accompanied by Hannah, writer of Love To Dine Blog, I attended Tacos and Twister Night for a Mexican themed meal.

When I arrived, Hannah was already there and I had to fight through a packed restaurant to meet her. I couldn’t believe how busy it was for a Wednesday night! I’m not sure whether it was because it was Halloween so people were out to avoid the trick or treaters or whether this was standard for an Oscars Wednesday. If it was, they have a winning formula. It made for a lively atmosphere and even though it seemed full to capacity, staff were still efficient and friendly. The decor was very much my thing. Lots of colours, big lights and seating at different levels. It was quite quirky but also cosy.

The Mexican menu was £12 for 2 courses and a shot of tequila or something else if you prefered. You could also take part in the Chilli Chicken Challenge for an extra £5. We didn’t take the challenge although I wish I had really. However, the two courses were plenty and we also had a few side dishes which we really didn’t need, the greed set in!

We started with flat breads and dip which were very nice. The flat breads were cut into manageable pieces and covered in guacamole and sour cream.

Flatbreads to start

To follow we had a choice of taco. I went for Piri Piri White Fish and Hannah had Beef Brisket. The fish was cooked beautifully. Tender, juicy with a hint of spice.  However, I’m not sure it was very ‘Mexican’. It was served with the same sour cream and guacamole that came with the starter and the taco was actually a flour tortilla. It was still tasty though and while it wasn’t traditionally Mexican, it was still top quality food.

Piri Piri Fish

Dinner with another food blogger meant there was no way we were leaving without dessert! I chose the Lemon Tart with Blackberry Ice Cream. It was the perfect way to finish the meal. The tart was fresh and light and the ice cream was delicious. Hannah had the Oscars Chocolate Macaroon Mess which also looked amazing, although I’m glad I went for the lighter option.

Lemon tart for dessert

I was impressed by Oscars and would love to go back and try their Evening Menu. I think Oscars Wednesdays are an excellent idea. A theme makes for a fun dining experience and is just that little bit different. This one was a very fair price too at just £12 (minus the dessert). The fact that you can still go for the Evening Menu means that everyone in a party should be happy even if they don’t fancy the theme for the evening.

My Last Mouthful was: The Lemon Tart with Blackberry Ice Cream

Service-

Atmosphere and Decor-

Quality of food-

Diversity of menu-

Value for money-

Overall rating-

Leave a Reply

