Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Change 4 Life Challenge!

This week sees the launch of Change 4 Life’s ‘Be Food Smart’ Campaign. It’s an initiative aiming to help families eat more healthily in 2013 and anyone who signs up will be mailed a Be Food Smart recipe booklets with 21 low-cost nutritionally balanced recipes that appeal to adults and children.

I have been challenged to try one of the recipes every day this week and to blog about my experience. I am going to pick either breakfast, lunch or an evening meal each day and record my thoughts along with the recipes which I will publish on here the following day.

The booklets are geared towards dissuading people from eating take aways and fast food by providing cost-effective, easy, healthy recipes that will feed a family of four. Each recipe includes a calorie count as well as detailed instructions on how to prepare and cook the meal.

Healthy eating is something that I take seriously so I was keen to get involved. So many people say they can’t cook and opt for convenience food but I believe that cooking can be fun, satisfying and so much better for you when you prepare it yourself. I don’t believe in fad diets, I’m from the old school ‘eat a balanced diet and exercise regularly’ way of thinking so I think this is an excellent initiative and a good step forward in improving health and tackling obesity.

Look out for my posts over the next 7 days and if you’d like to sign up to Change 4 Life’s Healthy Eating Campaign and receive a free recipe booklet, you can do so here.

Change4life logo

4 responses to “Change 4 Life Challenge!

  1. eatwellchef January 7, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    Healthy eating is something we all need to take seriously. I’m looking forward to reading about your experiences. Keep up the good work!

  2. joanne greensmith January 21, 2013 at 10:24 am

    Brilliant idea and am def gonna follow this with my children

  3. simon lawson January 22, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    Great doing this

  4. sima begum January 15, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    my kids love it they find it fun

Leave a Reply

