Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Change 4 Life Challenge- Tuesday

Breakfast- Forest Fruit Smoothie

This super easy smoothie is already a staple breakfast for me and is just as quick as toast and butter but a much healthier start to the day.  The preparation time states 6 minutes but I did it much quicker than that.

Smoothie Ingredients

Smoothie Ingredients

I used frozen forest fruits because that’s what the recipe said but it works well with any fruit, frozen or fresh. I often use frozen raspberries or fresh mango or sometimes just banana on its own.

Frozen fruits are great in smoothies because they are already cold and add a different texture. I like the addition of the yogurt but it is optional so entirely up to you. It’s sometimes nice to add a bit of fruit juice too if you don’t fancy it too milky.

I do my best to eat my 5 a day and this is a really good way of getting there and all before 9am! I had this with muesli but I could have just as easily enjoyed double the quantity with anything else.

I had mine with muesli but it would be fine on it's own

I had mine with muesli but it would be fine on its own

Recipe- serves 4

157 calories per portion, 6 minutes prep time, 1 minute cooking time.

Ingredients:

1 large banana

150g frozen forest fruits

150g low-fat natural yogurt (optional)

750ml semi-skimmed or 1% fat milk

What to do:

1. Slice the banana into a blender and add the frozen fruit (no need to thaw it first).

2. Add the low-fat yogurt and milk.

3. Blend together for 15-20 seconds, then pour into 4 glasses. Enjoy straightaway, with your cereal or wholemeal toast.

If you’d like to try the recipes for yourself you can order a free recipe booklet

Leave a Reply

