Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Change For Life Challenge- Thursday

Lunch- Super Savoury Rice

Another healthy lunch option for Thursday. I chose Super Savoury Rice. It’s a welcome change to a sandwich for me and easy to prepare. I made it the night before and made enough for myself and my husband to have for lunch today and tomorrow because the recipe serves 4.

Ingredients for savoury rice

Ingredients for Super Savoury Rice

I like the idea of this lunch as you can eat it hot or cold. It would also work well as an evening meal if you serve it with some salad. I think if I make it again I will add a few more herbs and spices. The flavouring wasn’t really strong enough for me. I would add a bit of chopped garlic when cooking the onions and some fresh herbs would be nice too. Maybe some coriander would go nicely with the curry flavour. That’s the beauty of cooking. You can try out recipes and adapt them to your taste.

Cooking time for this was exactly as stated and the preparation time took me a little less. It’s a nice easy one but I would definitely recommend doing it the night before if you’re taking it to work for lunch.

A nice alternative to sandwiches

A nice alternative to sandwiches

Recipe- serves 4

183 calories per portion, prep time 10 minutes, cooking time 30 minutes

Ingredients:

1 tsp oil

1 onion, finely chopped

100g mushrooms, sliced

150g long grain rice

300ml reduced-salt vegetable stock

75g frozen peas

100g baby sweetcorn, sliced

1tsp curry powder

1 tomato, chopped

What to do:

1. Heat the oil in a saucepan and fry the onions for 2-3 minutes, then add the mushrooms and cook for a further 2 minutes.

2. Stir the rice, then add the stock, peas, baby sweetcorn and curry powder. Stir well. Bring to the boil, turn down the heat and simmer for about 15-20 minutes, until the rice is tender, adding more water if necessary.

3. Serve the rice in bowls and sprinkle the tomato on top.

 For more recipes, sign up for the free Change4life recipe booklet.

Leave a Reply

