Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

My Japanese Kit Kat Obsession- Part II

In honour of my new quest I have been doing some research into the Japanese Kit Kat market and it has only made me more determined to try as many of them as I can. With flavours like European Cheese flavour who could resist?

I have discovered that on average a new kit kat flavour is released every 6 weeks in Japan! Most of them don’t stick around for long and many of them are regional varieties only found in a small number of places. This has made Kit Kat collecting in Japan more common place than I had imagined because even over there, they are not all widely available to get hold of. I have scoured many blogs and found stories of people taking special trips across Japan to find new varieties only found in a very remote regions. In fact, as most flavours are only sold for a small amount of time, Kit Kats in Japan are a collectors dream.

So why are there so many Kit Kats in Japan? Well, Japan has an ever-changing confectionary market. It is how brands survive out there but British companies have struggled to get into the shops. Coincidently, Kit Kat is very similar to the Japanese word ‘Kitto Katsu’ which is loosely translated as ‘Surely win’. As a result, Kit Kats have become a gift of choice for the people of Japan as a good luck present, especially for young people taking exams.

I realise the fact that I don’t live in Japan is going to make this challenge tricky but that’s part of the fun. I have found some websites that sell Japanese Kit Kats, although for a premium price and eBay has an unexpected amount of sellers too. With the postage costs from Japan though, these Kit Kats are going to be quite pricey so I will have to try not to get carried away.

So, here goes. Wish me luck! Time to purchase my first Japanese Kit Kat.

7 responses to “My Japanese Kit Kat Obsession- Part II

  1. DJ Leekee January 27, 2014 at 9:44 am

    I wonder if they do Dark Orange Chunky Kitkats out there too! My fav! Best of luck with sampling all the Kitkats!

    Lee
    http://www.djleekee.co.uk

  2. Pingback: My Japanese Kit Kat Obsession- The First Three! | Your Last Mouthful

  3. Pingback: Page not found | Your Last Mouthful

  4. Pingback: My Japanese Kit Kat Obsession- A Gift of Matcha Green Tea | Your Last Mouthful

  5. Pingback: My Japanese Kit Kat Obsession- Adult Sweetness- draft | Your Last Mouthful

  6. Pingback: My Japanese Kit Kat Obsession- A Gift of Matcha Green Tea

Leave a Reply

