Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

Foodie Penpals- January 2014

I heard about Foodie Penpals from fellow Cardiff food blogger Babettes Ffest. Originally started in the US and brought to the UK by blogger This Is Rock Salt, Foodie Penpals is a way to connect with food lovers and bloggers through monthly parcels of food.

Every month participants are paired with two different people. They must send a food parcel to one and will receive one from the other. Those that take it seriously will find out about their penpals likes and dislikes and put together a thoughtful parcel of goodies. Everyone then blogs about it at the end of the month.

This was my first experience and being a bit of a geek and a food lover, this was so much fun! I really enjoyed putting my parcel together and loved receiving mine from Kelly Parish in Manchester. Unfortunately Kelly doesn’t have a blog for me to link to.

Kelly was very thorough in finding out what I like and put together a really thoughtful parcel. I told her that I like Moroccan food so she included some Ras El Hanout spice and included a recipe for her own Chilli and Lime Halloumi which uses the spice and because I also listed Halloumi as one of my favourite foods. I also got a North African herb grinder.

I told Kelly I like children’s sweets so she included some Mexican sweets. I like to collect unusual sweets (yes, I realise how sad that sounds) so I was particularly pleased with these.

Sticking with the Mexican theme I got some Salsa Verde along with some basil oil and some African chutney. Best of all, Kelly included some elderflower rice pudding which looks amazing. This was because I said I liked floral flavours. I’m really looking forward to trying it.

My first Foodie Penpals was great fun. I was like an excited child waiting for the postman to arrive and I’m already looking forward to the next one.

If you would like to know more about Foodie Penpals in the UK and Europe, have a look here.

If you would like to know more about Foodie Penpals in the US and Canada, have a look at The Lean Green Bean.

Leave a Reply

