Your Last Mouthful

Cardiff based food blog

KL Canalog- From Kuala Lumpur to Wellfield Road

KL Canolog deli

Wellfield Road is definitely the place to be if you are looking for a cafe or coffee shop. Endless options for cake, sandwiches and coffee but my favourite little place offers something quite different to the rest. Modest, understated and welcoming, KL Canolog is an Asian deli and Malaysian cafe serving up simple but delicious food.

It’s all very inviting with the deli at the front and a very homely cafe put together with simple furniture and artwork on the wall that you might find in your kitchen at home. The menu on offer matches the interior. Simple, home cooked Malaysian food. Nothing fancy, just very authentic and delicious.

I went for the Nasi Lemak with Beef Rendang because it’s something I had when I was in Malaysia a few years ago. It was just as I remembered, even down to the way it was presented. Beautiful soft meat served with rice, dried salty anchovies, peanuts and a boiled egg. At just £8.70 it was both cheap and filling.

KL Canolog

To accompany my lunch I had a mint tea and Mr V had a Kopi Tarik (a sweet and milky Malaysian coffee). The coffee was especially good.

Coming up to closing time, we thought we’d take away some cake. We opted for a coconut cake and a Pandan sponge. This was not before raiding the deli where I picked up some cardamom essence and my favourite Pocky.

I will definitely be going back to KL Canolog. The owners are so friendly and welcoming. We felt right at home. We were even given a recipe for a dish we tried in Indonesia. I definitely recommend it as an alternative to a Panini and coffee in one of its larger chain neighbours.

Leave a Reply

